Oshkosh Volleyball
Coach Brian Schaefer
Brian Schaefer is the head of both the UW-Oshkosh's women's NCAA volleyball program and the men's NCVF club volleyball program.

Men's Program
As a student, Schaefer was a member of the UW-Oshkosh men's volleyball club team that won the 1996 National Intramural Recreation Sports Association (NIRSA) Division II Championship. Schaefer helped his team to the Wisconsin Volleyball Conference (WVC) title in both 1999 and 2000. He was an all-league first team selection in 2001.

Schaefer has been the head coach of the UW-Oshkosh men's volleyball collegiate club team since 2000, guiding the Titans' Division I squad to a 776-161-5 record (.826 winning percentage). He has coached UW-Oshkosh to 11 WVC Division I regular season titles, including the last eight (2009-2016) and seven WVC State Championships. The Titans also won 13 straight Midwest Ten Conference championships from 2003-2015.

During his tenure coaching the UW-Oshkosh men, Schaefer has mentored 47 players to 71 collegiate club All-American and 132 All-WVC awards. He was named the 2005 collegiate club Division I National Coach of the Year.

After finishing fifth at the collegiate club Division I Championship in 2003 and 2004 and second in 2005, Schaefer directed UW-Oshkosh to its first Division I national title in 2006 and repeated that feat in 2007, 2011, 2014, 2015 and 2016. The Titans added a runner-up finish in 2009 and third-place results in 2012 and 2013. UW-Oshkosh has finished third or better in the nation nine of the last 11 years, including winning the national title the last three seasons.

Women's Program
Brian Schaefer has compiled a stellar .755 winning percentage in his 13 years as UW-Oshkosh's volleyball coach. His tenure includes seven WIAC titles and eight berths in the NCAA Division III Championship, including an appearance in 2016 and 2014 as the Titans posted a 28-8 and 31-8 record, respectively.

Schaefer, who took over for Marty Petersen in 2004, holds an overall record of 358-116. His victory total ranks 9th in WIAC history.

In 2008 and 2009, UW-Oshkosh achieved the top two seasons in program history with records of 40-3 and 39-3, respectively. The 2008 team shared the WIAC regular-season crown and won the WIAC tournament. During 2009, the Titans won the league with an undefeated record, their first since 1990. Both years culminated with an appearance in the Elite Eight of the NCAA Division III Tournament after UW-Oshkosh won the Midwest Regional. The Titans captured third place nationally during 2009 and fifth place in 2008.

The 2009 season also marked the first time the Titans were ranked No. 1 by the American Volleyball Coaches Association, a standing they held for six weeks. Schaefer coached the Titans to 29 straight victories that year, setting the WIAC record. UW-Oshkosh also booked a 25-match winning streak in 2007 and a 15-match winning streak to start the 2014 season.

Schaefer was named the NCAA Division III Midwest Region Coach of the Year during 2005, 2008 and 2009. He also received the WIAC Coach of the Year award in those three seasons.

In 2007, UW-Oshkosh advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division III Championship before losing in five sets to eventual national champion Washington University (Mo.). The Titans finished 32-6 and ranked 13th in the country. During the season, UW-Oshkosh established a new NCAA Division III record with 57 consecutive sets won.

Schaefer's first full year of coaching in 2005 saw him take a UW-Oshkosh squad that was picked to finish seventh in the league standings to a top-10 national ranking, a WIAC title and the second round of the NCAA Division III Championship. The Titans finished the season with a 36-5 record as the 10th-ranked team in the nation.

Prior to becoming head coach, Schaefer served as an assistant coach for six years. During that time, the Titans compiled a 143-58 record with two NCAA Division III postseason visits and one WIAC title. UW-Oshkosh listed ninth in the final national poll during 2001, 12th in 2000 and 21st in 2003.

During Schaefer's association with the UW-Oshkosh women's volleyball program he has coached athletes to one NCAA Division III National Player of the Year, 17 NCAA Division III All-America, 27 NCAA Division III All-Midwest Region and 37 All-WIAC awards. In 2009, UW-Oshkosh's Christina Cahoon, a two-time First Team All-American, became the first libero in any NCAA division to be named the AVCA Division III Player of the Year. She is still the only libero in NCAA history to be named National Player of the Year.

Schaefer, a Kaukauna High School graduate, received his bachelor's degree in social work from UW-Oshkosh in 1996. He also earned a master's degree in educational leadership from the school in 2002.

Oshkosh Volleyball - 2014 Travis Hudson/Jake Ahnert Block
HOME        ABOUT        SCHEDULE/RESULTS        ROSTER        NEWS        STORE        CONTACT
NCVF Collegiate Club Volleyball Wisconsin Volleyball Conference Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association
© 2017 Oshkosh Volleyball. All Rights Reserved.  |  Built by: Thinksite®